ted cruz
Sen. Ted Cruz during a Senate hearing on November 17, 2020.
BILL CLARK/POOL/AFP via Getty Images
  • Sens. Ted Cruz, Mike Braun, and Cynthia Lummis introduced a bill banning federal vaccine passports.
  • At least 10 US states already have bills or executive orders banning vaccine passports.
  • Vaccine passports are becoming more common, as US tourists to the EU will be required to prove they are vaccinated.
  • See more stories on Insider's business page.

Three Republican senators have introduced a bill to ban the federal government from establishing COVID-19 vaccine passports, following in the footsteps of at least 10 GOP-led states.

Sens. Ted Cruz of Texas, Mike Braun of Indiana, and Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming introduced the legislation to the Senate Friday. The bill would also prevent the government from working with third parties, such as airlines, on setting up their own vaccine passport systems.

"Americans shouldn't be discriminated against because of COVID-19 vaccine status – whether that is at work or in everyday life," Cruz said in a statement announcing the bill. "We should be encouraging individuals to receive the vaccine through increased patient protections, not mandating it."

The senator also said he got the vaccine because "it was the right decision for me, but people should be free to make the decision that is right for them."

At least 1o states, including the home states of the senators introducing the bill, have enacted legislation or issued executive orders banning or limiting the use of vaccine passports. They are: Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Montana, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Vaccine passports are becoming increasingly common internationally. The European Union will require Americans traveling to the EU this summer to provide proof they are fully vaccinated.

Read the original article on Business Insider